The best ever Eggless Whole Wheat Banana Bread with walnuts and cardamom sprinkled with sesame seeds on top – Baked in Cooker

It has always been my heart’s desire to bake bread at home. Bread is the daily staple and when one can prepare it at home, why get it from outside, right? So I opted for the simplest and the most delicious of all, the banana bread and gave it a twist. First of all, I added cardamom powder to it along with vanilla essence. That gave a truly unique flavor to the bread and make it really fragrant too. The taste lingers on in your mouth tickling your palate for a long time after eating the bread. The inside of the bread is taken care of. Now to improve the looks of the bread, I sprinkled some sesame seeds on the bread before baking it. The bread got a professional look and an extra crunch.

There is actually quite a debate on whether banana bread is not actually a cake. There is hardly much difference actually except that the cake is sweeter and you don’t have it with butter.

Ingredients

1 cup whole wheat flour (gehun-ka-atta)

¾ cup sugar

¼ cup oil

2 ripe bananas

¼ cup walnuts, chopped

1 pinch cardamom powder

1 tsp vanilla essence

1 tbsp sesame seeds

1 tbsp baking powder

1 tsp baking soda

¼ cup milk

The best ever Eggless Whole Wheat Banana Bread with walnuts and cardamom sprinkled with sesame seeds on top

The best ever Eggless Whole Wheat Banana Bread with walnuts and cardamom sprinkled with sesame seeds on top

Cream the sugar and oil together. Sift the flour with baking powder and soda. Mix with the sugar and oil, cardamom powder and vanilla essence. Mash the bananas properly to form a puree and add to the batter. Add milk to achieve pouring consistency. Do not make the batter too thin. Add walnuts. Grease the cake pan and dust it. Pour the batter in it. Sprinkle sesame seeds on top.

Pre-heat the cooker. Place the cake pan in it and bake on a low flame for about an hour till a toothpick when inserted comes out clean. Cool the cake on a wire rack and serve with milk.

10 Responses

  1. I am wondering if this is cooked in the pressure cooker? You say cooker but I am not sure. Or is it baked? Sounds very good and easy.

  2. Hey Jill. The bread is baked in the pressure cooker. The concept is very similar to that of an oven though we do not put the whistle on top so the heat escapes through the nozzle as the bread gets baked. The pressure cooker is a good substitute for the oven when making cakes and bread.

  3. Thank you. But I don’t have a pressure cooker with a whistle so I am curious if you put water in the cooker and raise up the cake pan? If so, then the cake is steamed not baked.
    I am curious about why use the pressure cooker instead of the oven? Is it because it isn’t as hot? Or some other reason?
    This is very interesting to me.

  4. Hey Jill. There is no need for a whistle in pressure cooker and there is no need to put water also in it cos as you said it rightly, it will make the cake soggy. We are using the cake as a substitute for an oven. I am using a pressure cooker to make cake as I do not own an oven.

  5. Sam,

    That was really my question about the oven. Here in the US, almost everyone has an oven.

    If you have the sun, you could try a solar oven. I just saw one yesterday and have seen them work. But your pressure cooker method sounds fine, too, although 1 hour of fuel may be a lot.

    I appreciate your letting me know. I needed that perspective.

  6. Hey Jill. Thanks for sharing about the solar oven. Your concerns about the pressure cooker are valid, however, there is hardly as much consumption of fuel. If you opt for a smaller cooker of 5 liter capacity, the baking time will be cut in half. In India, baking at home is a matter of interest only and not mandatory. However, an oven definitely wins over a cooker because of the limitations of the latter.

  7. can this be made in a crockpot? also, is it possible to provide instructions for the oven…would you say back at 350 degrees F for 30 min or so?

  8. @Lakshmi. I am sure this can be done in a crockpot also though I have never tried myself. Do lemme know if it turns out to be successful.

  9. Having just moved to S. Korea, I’m learning how to bake and cook using a pressure cooker for the first time – no oven here. I’m grateful to have stumbled upon your recipe for banana bread as this is my first project. Thanks for sharing! Sounds great.
    -TLiebe

  10. I tried this recipe with wonderful results .I made it in the microwave.My recipe is @ http://vasusanchayah.blogspot.com/2011/12/eggless-banana-cake.html

    Thanks a lot for making me take definitive steps towards baking.

Leave a Reply

