Eggless Marble Cake

Everything I have learned about cooking has come from my Mom including cakes. I remember when I was a kid, she used to describe a marble cake she used to make. She would spoon one portion of vanilla and then one portion of chocolate batter into the pan one after the other. She would relish describing it and that would make me also want to make it sometime. However, I never got around to doing it somehow….
Now I had made an eggless cake when my SIL had come over and half a can of condensed milk was left over. Just to use it up, I decided to give marble cake a try. I searched the recipe on the net and it was nothing but spooning two different batters into the cake pan one after the other just like Mom used to describe. Only thing is, I substituted condensed milk for eggs.
Ingredients
1 cup all purpose flour (maida)
1/2 can condensed milk (200 ml)
1/4 cup unsalted butter (ghee)
1/2 cup sugar
1 tsp vanilla essence
1 tbsp cocoa powder
1 tbsp baking soda
1 tbsp baking powder
Marble Cake
Marble Cake

Cream the butter and sugar together. Sieve flour with baking soda and baking powder. Add the creamed butter and sugar to the flour. Add condensed milk and vanilla essence. Roll the batter while adding water spoonful by spoonful till it is of pouring consistency.

Divide the batter into two equal parts. To one part add cocoa powder and mix.

Marble Cake close up
Marble Cake close up

Grease and dust the cake pan. Put one spoon of vanilla batter and then one spoon of chocolate batter in it. Alternate till all the batter is utilized.

Heat the pressure cooker. Place the cake pan in it and bake on low flame for about an hour. Remove when a toothpick comes out clean when inserted in the cake. Cool cake on a wire rack before serving.

Marble Cake on Foodista

7 Responses

  1. I love marble cakes, ideal for tea time.

    but also interesting for my teddies, who have different prefernces, one loves vanilla, and the other only chocolates, you see, I can please both of them with one cake like this :)

  2. Yeh nice Recipe, i will try it,
    greets from Germany..

  3. .Thank you. I always wondered what ghee was. I guess I should have looked it up but since I didn’t, you solved the mystery.

  4. Thats lovely piece of cake!

  5. i need to try out the marble cake. would like to know if u have to put water at the bottom of the pessure pan before placing the baking dish .else the pan and the cake would end up getting burnt.

  6. There is no need t put water in the pressure cooker. The cake will not get burnt. In fact, the cake will become soggy if there is water in the cooker. If you feel the heat is uneven or too much, you can put an iron pan on the gas so as the spread the heat and then place the pressure cooker on top of it.

  7. Sounds a good recipe..i surely wanna try..its just that i wanna know if u could suggest other options for Eggless marble cake other than condensed milk

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 64 other followers

