The Best Cabbage Sabzi Ever

Who loves cabbage? The smell and taste of cooked cabbage is aweful. It even looks like some green alien thing when prepared. Cabbage sabzi was in my hate list. All my life I have hated it and avoided it. Raw cabbage tastes great but the cooked version somehow creates havoc in my taste buds provoking me to spit out all the contents in my mouth. Who knew my taste in cabbage would change so drastically after my marriage? My MIL has her own special way of cooking cabbage and I picked some tips from her. Combining that with my own skills, the cabbage sabzi is indeed delicious and keeps HD wanting more.

The first thing to keep in mind is never to cut cabbage with knife. The resulting shreds will be thick and short and will spoil the entire dish. Use a chopping board, specially one fitted with a cutter. Place one half of cabbage head on the board and shred it closely and only in one direction. This will give you very thing and long strands of the vegetable. This particular process is very important in making the dish a success. You need patience and a little bit of effort to get it but you efforts will be worthwhile.

Ingredients

1 1/2 cups chopped cabbage

1 tsp turmeric powder (haldi)

1 tblsp dhaniya powder

1 tblsp red chilli powder

2-3 tblsp salt

1 tblsp oil

1 tsp cumin seeds (zeera)

1 small pinch of hing

Heat oil in a pan. Add zeera and hing. When zeera starts to splutter, add cabbage and stir on high flame. This will ensure that cabbage is properly cooked. Stir continuously so that cabbage does not burn. Add the rest of the spices and mix properly. Put the gas on sim. Sprinkle 2-3 tblsp of water on cabbage and cover it with a plate. Stir the cabbage every 2-3 mins. Sprinkle more water if cabbage is entirely dry. The whole idea is that the cabbage should become soft without burning. When the cabbage is cooked completely, remove the plate and let additional water, if any, dry up completely. Serve hot.

6 Responses

  1. I am on the lookout for different things to do with cabbage lately and this sounds great – must give it a try!

  2. Mmmm, we like cabbage. :) It does have the ability to go wrrrrrong, but when it’s good, it’s good. Maybe we can try to find dhaniya and hing somewhere and give this version a try!

  3. I love cabbage as well – will give this a try. I often use cabbage in salads!

  4. sounds simple and delicious :)

  5. Its my fav. easy to cook.

  6. 3Z8jYd Excellent article, I will take note. Many thanks for the story!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 64 other followers

