Chocolate Walnut Cake – Slow Cooker Recipe

My parents were coming over for the very first time after my marriage and I really wanted to impress my mother, who happens to be a great cook, with my kitchen artwork. What better than to make a cake I thought. The only problem was cocoa. It was not available anywhere. I checked in Spencer Plaza, I checked in More, I checked in Reliance Fresh and I checked in all the small kirana stores near my home. Nothing. Finally it was Hubby Dear who came to the rescue. Between HB, his brother and me, the cake was half finished before serving before my parents…. ;-).

Preparation Time – 1 hour 30 minutes

Servings – 8 people

 

Ingredients

3 eggs

1 cup refined flour

¾ cup sugar

½ cup ghee / unsalted butter

1 tblsp cocoa

½ cup chopped walnuts

1 tsp baking powder

1 tsp baking soda

¼ cup milk

 

Blend in the eggs, sugar, ghee and cocoa in a mixer. Sieve flour along with baking powder and baking soda. Pour the contents in a bowl and slowly add flour to it. Mix in anti-clockwise direction with a spoon. You can also use your hand to mix the batter. It the batter seems too thick, add a little milk to it to get a pouring consistency. Grease a baking dish and sprinkle flour in it. Pour the batter in it and garnish it with the chopped walnuts. Pre-heat the cooker for five minutes at high flame. Put in the batter and bake for 1 hour.

2 Responses

  1. One hour is not a bad cooking time here, and I am sure using the slow cooker makes it much more moist than baking for less time at a higher temperature. This looks like a fantastic recipe, and I will be sure to try it!

  2. Thanks for the information…I bookmarked your site, and I appreciate your time and effort to make your blog a success!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 63 other followers

